Your Cart

Discovering Literature Teaching Guides (9-Book Set)

Discovering Literature Teaching Guides (9-Book Set)
Discovering Literature Teaching Guides (9-Book Set)

Grade Level: 5-8
Interest Level: 4-12
Reading Level: N/A

The Discovering Literature Series is designed to develop a student’s appreciation for good literature and to improve reading comprehension. While many skills reinforce a student’s ability to comprehend what he or she reads (sequencing, cause and effect, finding details, using context clues), two skills are vital. They are: discerning main ideas and summarizing the text. Students who can master these two essential skills develop into sophisticated readers. 54-112 pages each.

The following books are in this set of 9 literature books:

  • My Side of the Mountain
  • Where the Red Fern Grows
  • Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of Nimh
  • Island of the Blue Dolphins
  • Redwall
  • The Outsiders
  • Roll of Thunder Hear My Cry
  • Bridge of Terabithia
  • The Graveyard Book

Each chapter analysis is organized into three basic elements: Student Directives, Chapter Vocabulary, and Chapter Summary.

The Student Directives contain the main ideas in each chapter. They provide the students, working individually or in groups, with a framework for developing their summaries. Student Directives can also be used as group discussions.

The Chapter Vocabulary includes definitions of keywords from each chapter. To save time, students need only to copy, not look up, definitions.

A Chapter Summary for each chapter is included for teacher use and knowledge.

Throughout the guide Skill Pages and Tests are provided for to build an increased understanding of the book and to review student’s knowledge.

Write a review

Please login or register to review
  • Stock: In Stock
  • Model: REM GP246